New member with a new-found fascination for gems! Seeking guidance

Hello everyone! I am brand new to the world of gemology and I have recently become very fascinated with gems.

I came here because I would like to learn as much as I can about gems/minerals and the process of identification and grading. I’d possibly like to pursue a career later on, but I cannot afford to attend one of the reputable schools such as GIA or Gem-A. Although I am interested in getting IGS certified to start.

I researched many different education options to try and find the best place to start my journey, and this seems like a good place for that. I’m seeking some guidance on what the minimum required/recommended tools are (I am on a budget) for identification and grading.

I studied the “Tools of the Gemologist” page and it sounds like the basic tools I need to get started as a complete newbie are the following:

• A good quality 10x+ triplex color-correct loupe
  • Tweezers
  • Flexible arm lamp (/w incandescent bulb)

items that may be of convenience:

• Stone line
  • Gem cloth

other items that may be of interest:

• Calipers
  • Scale
    (I don’t know how much this stuff typically costs but it sounds like the loupe would be the expensive part)

It also mentioned this book:
Color Encyclopedia of Gemstones by Joel E. Arem
~$35

and this software:
Gemology Tools Pro
$60
(do I need both? which do you recommend?)

I’d like to put aside $460 for the certification+gold membership in the future, and would like to know if the tools I listed above are a good starting point, and how much it might cost to purchase them, where the best place to purchase them is, and what the recommended types/brands are. If I’ve got this all wrong, please point me in the right direction!

Another resource I was recommended to check out was this website:
GemologyProject.com

Thank you very much in advanced for any help you will be able to give me!

Hi Patrick,