Gem identification

Okay I am a newbie and I hve a question about some of the gem identification tools.
My question is as a newbie what should be the best tools to acquire first?
I know a Hastings Loupe would be first and foremost and I believe the next tool of importance would be the dichroscope, now I am undecided I was at first considering the chelsea filter but am starting to think that since i am being budget conscience instead of the Chelsea filter it would be more important to get the Spectroscope as it seems like I could do the same thing with the dichroscope as wit the chelsea filter.
So that is my question , thoughts comments please.

Ron,

I’d get a Dark Field Loupe. NEVER Regretted getting one. Soo much better than a std Loupe.

From what I have researched I agree with you nontavitch I did not include that in my list I forgot it I was planning on getting one though, I think it would be best to have both the standard Hasting loupe and the darkfield loupe.
Thank you for your input.
Ron,

Absolutely, you need both! If you’ve never used a DF, you’ll love it!
I’d also go for the Dichroscope. A Spectroscope is also nice, but I’d say a Refractometer is crutial. Unfortunitly, they’re not cheap, as you’re probably aware. You can find cheaper ones that do the job (I use one I got for about $175). I’d also recommend a Book “Gemstones of the world” 3rd edition or newer. Hope that helps.

I actually have that book already, published in 1984 very informative book, you are so correct in recommending it.
I am waiting on gemstone press to reply to me concerning a question I had on the aperture of their ezview dichroscope, I talked to a lady there on the phone and she was going to try and find that information. It puzzles me that a lot of this equipment is hard to distinguish apart because there is no technical data offered, seems the only distinguishing data is price of course and if from Hong Kong.