Novice wanna be cutter

I am just getting into faceting, and have no idea what sort of machine to get? Any helpful suggestions?

I already have enough gem grade rough from my rock hounding hobby. Mostly tourmaline and morganite.

thanks in Advance…

No one can advise a machine?..please help…

Wish I could help you, but I’ve never done any cutting myself. Looking at the rest of the website, there’s a lot of articles about faceting and getting started. I didn’t see any straight buy this and not that machine, but lots of good information. A book that should be good is: FACETING for AMATEURS by Glenn & Martha Vargas.

If you can swing the gold membership price, it’s well worth it. And no, I’m not an employee, just another gold member.

Duane

Thank the gods, there is someone here alive. I am thinking the lack of response is to my name, but its tied to my Instagram acct. Thank you so much Duane. I will do that once funds become avail.

I was rock hounding with a friend of mine and came upon some silver ore that is about 36% pure…so if we can get a claim, just might be able to afford the membership and a bit more.

So what do you do? Rock hound? Gold Hunter?

Hope the claim works out.

I started 4 years ago repairing my wife’s jewelry and quickly moved into beading. I got bored with that found gemstones. Currently I’m learning as much as I can about gemstones and silversmithing. Hopefully I can take my gemologist test this coming year.

cool…if you lived in vegas, I got a few stuff that needs identification…such as what I suspect is beryl…one possible morganite, and a few unknowns…

Seems NV, especialy henderson-nv has some lovely stuff in the mountains here. Alot of water related minerals.

Was talking to an old timer here to claims there is topaz here. He gave me some leads…in process of following up…

good luck in your test