Question about valuing Ethiopian Opal

Hello all,
I have recently completed a pendant in 18 and 22K using an 8.7 carat Ethiopian opal and have been going to some nice jewelry stores to try and get them to sell the piece. I know I make quality work, but I am new to the jewelry industry. One store was owned and run by a very talented jewelry who’s been making high quality jewelry for more than 40 years. He really liked the piece and was willing to sell it on commission, but he wasn’t sure about the Ethiopian Opal market. He had no idea how to price the opal as he is more used to the Australian opal, and he’s one of those people who has some concerns about the stability of the Ethiopian opals. He’s pretty old-school. All he said he could go on is what I paid for the opal. But I believe I got a very good price for it and that the opal should be valued for more than what I paid for it. It truly is a gorgeous stone. Could anyone here give me any information on the valuing of Ethiopian opals, and this opal in particular? I would appreciate any help I can get.

Thank you,
Eleanor Phillips

By the way, I am attaching a picture of the pendant with the opal. The setting is 18K and the snake is 22K. The accent stones are a Tsavortie and a Mandarin garnet. This is all hand fabricated by myself and the snake is hand-carved from gold PMC.

1 Like