Carats and Gemstone Grading

Step 4: Gem Grading

Lesson 2

What are Carats?

Carat is one of the four Cs of gemstone grading. In English, that sounds the same as carrot, but we aren’t discussing vegetables. Carat also sounds the same as karat, but that is a measure of the fineness of gold or the ratio of pure gold to alloy metals in a mixture. Karat is abbreviated as “K.”

A carat (abbreviated as “ct”) is a measure of a gemstone’s weight. It’s equal to 1/5th of a gram or 200 milligrams. You could also phrase that as five carats in a gram. A kilogram is 1,000 grams, or 5,000 carats.

(My apologies to those of you on the metric system. To Americans, this sometimes needs to be explained).

Gem weights are occasionally expressed in common fractions like ½ or ¼ carats but are more commonly expressed as decimal fractions. (.25 carats instead of ¼ carats, for example).

A carat is further divided into units called points. There are 100 points in a carat. So, for example, 25 points, .25 carats, and ¼ carats are all the same weight.

Carats, Gem Value, and The Law of Supply and Demand

To …

Premium Article

This is a Premium Article. Please become a member to read this entire article and gain access to hundreds more like it.

Membership options

Full Article Details

Content Length 978 words
Reading time 4 min 53 sec

Here's what you get if you unlock this article:

  • What are Carats?
  • Carats, Gem Value, and The Law of Supply and Demand
  • Gemstone Varieties and Their Impact on Value Per Carat
  • More Carats Doesn't Always Mean More Valuable
  • Carats and Gemstone Grading Self Test

Plus, additional member-only benefits:

  • Exclusive access to other premium articles and courses
  • Unlimited access to our gem pricing guide
  • Participate in our member-only forums
Membership options